Paris in the Summer: Palais de Tokyo to Paris Plage [Walk #9]

Eiffel Tower from Pont de L'Alma

The Eiffel Tower from Pont de L’Alma

To start the month of August off right, Edouard and I decided to get a little exercise (and sun!) by taking a walk along the Seine to Paris Plage (I had never been!).

We walked over 7 km, which was exhausting, but we saw so many neat things happening around the city that it was totally worth it!

I’ve just discovered that I can mark-up Google Maps so I’ve made this to give you a rough idea of our walking route:

Paris Walk #9

The pictures all speak for themselves so without further ado, here are the things that we say on our sunny Sunday walk:

Tractors @ Pont d’Alma

Tractors in Paris

Tractors crossing

Pont Alexandre III

Place de la Concorde 

Old Cars, Place de la Concorde

Old Cars, Place de la Concorde

Beautiful Jardin de Tuileries

cat, Jardin de Tuileries

No people – Cats OK, Jardin de Tuileries

Starbucks & Le Louvre

Lovebirds with Starbucks, Pyramide du Louvre

Lovebirds with Starbucks, Pyramide du Louvre

Pont des Arts

Paris Plage

From Pont des Arts, Edouard and I went down to the quai of the Seine to join Paris Plage. I have to say, I wasn’t very impressed.  Besides burning in the sun, there really isn’t that much to do… There are a few games like pétanque and Foosball but there’s only enough room for a few people to play.  I think they should have done a little more to help people deal with the heat (all they had was one small area where people could cool them self off with misters).  But maybe that’s just me.  Anybody else have any thoughts? I did love the dance area that they set up though. I wish I could dance like that.

“Beach-goers”

Game-players

The Giant Chair:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Blue skies

Fun for Kids

Fun for adults

Dancing, Paris Plage

Dancing, Paris Plage

 
 

After we headed over to the metro.  I really wanted Berthillon ice cream and thought I deserved some after such a long walk. I had never tried it before and Edouard told me it was really good.

2015-08-02 2015-08-02 001 111

But I didn’t want to wait in this line…

2015-08-02 2015-08-02 001 112

Or this one…

2015-08-02 2015-08-02 001 113

Next time I guess : )

Walk Distance: about 7 km.

Walk time: We took our time and stopped a lot so I think it took us 4-5 hours.

One thought on “Paris in the Summer: Palais de Tokyo to Paris Plage [Walk #9]

Leave a Reply

