Dinner and a Movie: Date Night in Paris

For my hubby’s 33rd birthday, I told him we could celebrate any way he wanted.

“I got a free movie ticket for my birthday,” he said.

“That’s all you want to do? Go see a movie?” I asked, slightly disappointed that we weren’t going out to eat at our favorite Italian restaurant like we had talked about a few weeks before.

“Yeah, the Avengers is playing and I really want to see it.”

“The Avengers?” My disappointment is evident.  I think fast for a way to get out of having to sit through a 2.5 hour action movie that I’m convinced I won’t like.

“Are you sure you want to spend your birthday with me, Babe?  Wouldn’t you have more fun going to see that movie with your friends?”

“No, I just want to spend my birthday with you,” he insists, and then rolls over and goes to sleep.

Fail. I’m stuck going to see the Avengers.

Image from yallacine.com

I’m not a big movie person. I’m extremely picky about what I watch and will only go to see a movie in the theaters if I’m 99% sure I’ll like the plot (in short, it has to be a romantic comedy).  But if I do end up getting dragged by my husband to see a movie that doesn’t fall within my preferred genre, it has to be at the Cinema Pathé Beaugrenelle.

Why? When you reserve your tickets online you can pick your seat!!

Tip: If you’re a pain in the butt like me, get an aisle seat so if you don’t like the movie you can just get up, leave without bugging anyone, and come back 30 minutes later saying there was a line for the popcorn.

Just kidding.  But I do like the fact that you can choose your seat ahead of time.  That way, even if the movie is full, you’re sure to be next to your movie-going companion.  Another awesome thing about this theater is that they have love seats.  Yup, you can get a mini couch for 2 so you can snuggle up to your “amoureux (- euse).”

Beaugrenelle Cinema © Gaumont Pathé

So, to get back to the whole birthday thing, to make my E happy we went to see the “Avengers: Age of Ultron,” and to make me happy we went to Beaugrenelle.

For those wondering, the Avengers wasn’t that bad. I laughed a little, enjoyed the plot, and I’m happy to say that the fighting scenes, albeit a bit long, were not unbearable.

Ok, fine! I liked it!

After the movies we were hungry so we went into the shopping center and decided to have dinner at a beautifully decorated Italian restaurant called “Quindici.

Quindici, Beaugrenelle

From the outside, it looks like any old shopping mall restaurant.  But once you turn the corner you will be enchanted by the flickering candles and the little sparkling lights hanging from the ceiling. If you sit by the window, you can even see a leg of the Eiffel Tower.

The pizzas are reasonably priced (around 12 €) and the 4 cheese one we ordered was delicious.

So, if you’re ever looking for a “dinner & a movie” date night, Beaugrennelle was made for lovers. 😛

Address: Centre Commercial Beaugrenelle (Entrée Panoramic), 7 Rue Linois, 75015 Paris

3 thoughts on “Dinner and a Movie: Date Night in Paris

  1. Agreed re your feeling about the Avengers. I was so bored! Even though parts were funny and it was well done. It’s just that fight scenes get really old after a while. That theatre looks amazing! Have never been there, must be new.

Leave a Reply

