A Tiny Ice-Cream Shop in the Marais [Walk #8]

I know I’ve talked about Raimo ice cream before, but I’ve become a pretty big fan.  That’s why when we were in the Marais visiting the Musee Carnavalet, I decided we should head on over to their shop at 17 rue des Archives and regain our strength with a little sugar fix.

Here are some photos from our short, but beautiful walk in the Marais:

Selling prints outside Musée Carnavalet

Selling prints outside Musée Carnavalet

Patiserie turned store

Patiserie turned store

Flowers and globes

Flowers and globes in the sun

Man hanging out in front of a shop

Man hanging out in front of a shop

Parc and sun

Parc and sun

“Le Dôme du Marais” – A restaurant I’d love to try one of these days

My next stop for brunch?

My next stop for brunch? I like the “terrasse.”

Raimo Glacier, Le Marais

Raimo Glacier, Le Marais

I was surprised to find that the shop was extremely tiny – with 3 people in front of us, there was hardly any space to get inside.

The outside is only for waffles.

Waffles, Raimo Paris, Le Marais

Waffles, Raimo Paris, Le Marais

Edouard and I got citron basilic (lemon basil) sorbet in a cone.  This is supposed to be the most famous flavor of Raimo Paris and I was not disappointed!  After our long day at the museum, this is exactly what we needed.  It was light, refreshing, and zesty enough to wake up my senses.  Edouard said he felt like he was eating cold pasta (it reminded him of pesto).  But he still really liked it. I’m not really a lemon person so I was scared I wouldn’t like it, but you hardly taste the lemon at all.  If anything, it’s actually kind of a salty flavor.

Definitely a must try if you’re in the neighborhood.

Hotel de Ville, Paris

Hotel de Ville, Paris

Our walk ended at Hotel de Ville, where I watched a guy blow giant bubbles while waiting for the bus to bring us home.

Bubble. Hotel de Ville, Paris

Bubble. Hotel de Ville, Paris

One thought on “A Tiny Ice-Cream Shop in the Marais [Walk #8]

  1. Beautiful. And, as usual, makes me envious! The Marais is my favorite neighborhood to stay in while visiting Paris, now I’ll put that spot on the list! 😉 – rachel

Leave a Reply

