Le Loir dans la Théière: Tea & Delicious Desserts

A few weeks ago, as Edouard and I headed back to the metro after a brunch with friends, we passed a cute little salon de thé called “Le Loir dans la Théière” (3 Rue des Rosiers, 75004 Paris).  Edouard pointed it out and said that he’d like to take me there sometime because they had really good hot chocolate (He had gone there a with his friend a few times before we met).

On this particular Saturday we happened to be back walking around the Marais, so we decided to stop in and warm up a bit.

When we got to the restaurant though, there was a line.

Le Loir dans la THÉIÈRE

I guess the word really gets around about good hot chocolate!

Luckily, we didn’t have to wait long in the cold.  We were invited in after 5 minutes and stood in the entryway while we waited for an open table.

The set-up to the restaurant had a very cozy feel to it.  The tables were fairly close together and the place was jam packed with happily chatting “gourmand” clients.  Posters & Flyers covered the walls, all accept one. The wall to the right of the entrance is decorated with a 70’s style painting of Alice in Wonderland.  It’s the scene where she is having tea with the Mad Hatter and the dormouse pops out from the teapot.  This is where the restaurant gets it’s name: the word “loir” in French means “dormouse.”

We were seated pretty quickly considering the crowd and were left to look at the menu while the waiter ran around to attend to other clients.

** Let me note, if you’re looking to have a relaxing afternoon tea with amazing customer service, this probably isn’t the place to go.  We had no problem with our waiter – he was really nice.  But we saw him only very briefly and you could tell he was really rushed.

Although the original plan was to come for hot chocolate, I was tempted by the house tea “Le Melange du Loir” (green tea with a hint of cherry, rhubarb, strawberry, fig, and flowers).

Tea is only 5 euros and it comes in a pot that holds 4 servings!  A great deal if you split it between 2 people.

Edouard stuck with his usual, the hot chocolate (5,50 euros).

And since we had completed a 40 minutes bike ride earlier in the day, we decided that we also deserved a treat.

The dessert table is filled with so many scrumptious choices but we ended up going with the “mille feuille.”  After 16h you can get dessert for only 6 euros if you order it in a “formule” with your tea.

Again, it was a huge serving and definitely enough for 2 people to share.  And honestly, it was DELICIOUS!  It’s probably the best mille feuille that I’ve ever tasted.

So in short, I highly recommend this place.  If you’re a dessert lover, you MUST go.

Check out their menu : here

7 thoughts on “Le Loir dans la Théière: Tea & Delicious Desserts

      • I just made my way back here…..lived in Paris for three years. In the nineties! Le Loir dans la Theiere was a thing back then too. Have they ever changed the carpet? I hope so.

        Am not 100% sure my novel is totally “feel good.” You will have to tell me! But it is a fast read, that I can say. A lot of the stuff that happens to my character were experiences I actually had (tho NOT the catacombs–that is just too crazy).

        • I didn’t notice the carpet – I hardly look down when I walk (not a good trait, especially in Paris lol)
          I can’t wait to read your book! I’m finishing up “1Q84” at the moment and reading it in French so it’s taking me longer than usual – but yours is next on my list! I love stories that take place in Paris : )

  1. Well, let me know what you think! It will definitely be easier to read than 1Q84….;) I love stories that take place in Paris, too, and am working on a sequel to the first.
    Btw, the sequel is 100% in Paris; the first one (Rules for the….) is 50% in Paris.

Leave a Reply

