Bois de Boulogne to the Marais [Walk #3]

After several months of scanning LinkedIn/ Monster.fr/ Cadremploi/ etc for interesting positions, sending CVs, and tedious interviews, I am happy to announce that I finally have a new job!

I’m really excited to start this new chapter in my life and from everything I’ve heard, the company I’ll be working for is really great!

Another awesome thing about my new job is it’s not all that far from my house.  By train, it’s about a 35 minute commute.

And by bike, only 22 minutes! Normally, I’m quite nervous about biking in Paris and wouldn’t even think about taking a Velib by myself, but since my job is at Neuilly-sur-Seine, I can cross through the Bois de Boulogne (a big park) and pretty much avoid any major roads.

To test this commuting option, Edouard and I agreed to replace part of our weekend walk with a bike ride.

Edouard on his Velib

The route to Neuilly was quite lovely – we passed the horse track and rode beside the 2 lakes at the heart of the Bois de Boulogne.  I would have loved to take pictures but as I was on the bike, I couldn’t manage it.  But here’s one I got from http://www.francedigitale.com/ :

Vue sur les iles

Lake path at Bois de Boulogne – it’s more colorful in the spring/summer 😉

This particular park on the outskirts of Paris is a well-known hangout for prostitutes and despite the fact that it was only a little after noon, we passed a few who were already out waiting in mini-skirts in broad daylight (none of them were real women…).

If I do decide to ride my bike to work, it certainly won’t be boring!

Proving once again that I’m a sucky Parisian, the Velib that I had chosen was broken.  Not visibly so, but when you tried to pedal, it was like trying to ride a rock.  Edouard was nice enough to switch with me, but it wasn’t until the end of our ride so rather than taking us 20 minutes to get to Neuilly, it took us 40 minutes…

At the metro station Pont de Neuilly we were surprised to find that we not only had a great view of La Défense, but we could also see the Arc de Triumphe in the distance!  We picnicked here on a bench with the sun warming our backs.

la Grande Arche de la Défense from Neuilly

La Grande Arche de la Défense

Arc de Triumphe from Neuilly

The Arc de Triumphe… Do you see it?

Arc de Triumphe

There it is!

Hubby taking photos

The next stop on our Saturday adventure was the Marais (we took the metro line 1 to Saint-Paul).  Edouard wanted to go to the American grocery store “Thanksgiving” and then promised to take me out to tea at a cute place he knew of.  Here are the things we saw around the Marais:

Harley Davidsons! (My dad’s fav)

The Pure Malt Scottish Pub Paris

The Pure Malt Scottish Pub – 4 Rue Caron, 75004 Paris

Eat Gluten Free grocery store Paris

Gluten Free grocery store – 5 Rue Caron, 75004 Paris

Le Double Fond

Magic show café – 1 Place du Marché Sainte-Catherine, 75004 Paris

Église Saint-Paul-Saint-Louis 2015

Église Saint-Paul-Saint-Louis – It was black the last time I saw it & now it’s all clean!

Losco belts ceintures

Belt store “Artisanal” – 20 Rue de Sévigné, 75004 Paris

Monsieur Poulet

Mr. Chicken, Original Chicken Clothes… 24 Rue de Sévigné, 75004 Paris

Historical Library – I love the entryway

Our walk ended at the salon de thé, “Le Loir dans la Théière.”  But I’ll save this story for another time : )

Leave a Reply

