Valentine’s Day in Paris: 3 unconventional ideas

Valentine’s Day… A Hallmark holiday that will have most of the restaurants hopping here in the city of love.  If you’re like me and aren’t in the mood to be out romancing in a crowded café this weekend, here are a few unconventional ways to spend your Valentine’s Day (whether your in a couple or going solo!):

1) Have an adventurous dining experience at the restaurant “Dans le Noir.”

51 Rue Quincampoix, 75004 Paris

The concept: eat your dinner in total darkness.

I haven’t been here yet but I really want to! From what I’ve read, you are guided to your table by your waiter and are given a “surprise” menu (so basically you don’t know what you’re eating).  You may even be sat at a “community” table which means having this funny experience with complete strangers.  Who knows, maybe you’ll make some new friends!

2) Spice up your night with a trip to the Musée de l’Érotisme.

72 Boulevard de Clichy, 75018 Paris

Tongue chair at the Paris Museum of Eroticism

Tongue chair at the Paris Museum of Eroticism

Now this I have done.

The museum is 5 floors of sex history & art.  For example, I feel like I remember reading that this “tongue chair” above was built by a King for his mistress… I might have this confused with King Edward VII’s “Love Chair” though.

** If anyone goes to the museum and reads the description for the tongue chair (it’s on the ground floor somewhere), let me know if I’m right and which king it was!

Anyway, it’s a pretty interesting (funny) museum.  Check it out!

3) If you need a little TLC, how about having a nice cup of coffee in the company of some furry friends? 

Head to the The Cat Café and hang out with their adorable kitties – there’s 12 of them!

There are 2 Cat Cafe’s in Paris:

16 Rue Michel le Comte, 75003

OR 9 rue Sedaine, 75011 Paris

Photo from Le Café des Chats’ Facebook page posted by T. Bordas‎

Again, I have never been here personally (cat allergy) but it seems like an awesome idea.  I heard about it from blogger “keirybeesparis.”  Here’s the link to her article: Coffee cat, coffee cat.

So what are your plans for Valentine’s Day?  Doing anything fun or romantic? Let me know in the comments!

Edouard’s taking me to see Fifty Shades of Grey on Saturday – I can’t wait!

One thought on “Valentine’s Day in Paris: 3 unconventional ideas

Leave a Reply

