Angelina – The Best Hot Chocolate in Paris

One night while out with my friend, Ieva, near Rue Rivoli, she mentioned to me that we were really close to the place that sells “the best hot chocolate in Paris.”

I dismissed it at the time [and opted for Korean food?], but when my husband mentioned it to me again after a chilly walk through the Tuileries Gardens, I was excited to go and see what all the buzz was about.

The restaurant, Angelina (226 Rue Rivoli, 75001 Paris) is really well-known for their “chocolat chaud à l’ancienne l’Africain.”  So much so, that there’s almost always a line at the door.

Angelina Paris queue line

Waiting in line at Angelina’s, people huddled close.

Angelina Paris Waitress Maid

Shop at Angelina’s, Waitress in the background with cute work uniform

We got lucky and the line moved pretty fast – we were in the door after only a 10 minute wait.

The first thing I noticed when I walked in was that all the waitress were dressed in really cute uniforms that looked like a less slutty sophisticated version of our “French Maid” Halloween costumes.

At the entrance, there’s a side shop and a bakery on each side of the hall that look absolutely charming.  As I watched trays go by with mouth-watering desserts, I was drummed up with anticipation and itching to be seated.

Then came the sad part… the dining area. Maybe I was seated in a bad part of the restaurant, or maybe I had just built everything up so much in my mind that I expected some extravagant interior… but either way, I was kind of disappointed at the drab scenery around me.

The interior has a very old feeling to it.  The lighting is dim (but not in a romantic way) and the color scheme seemed like something from out of the 70s.

I’m not saying it was horrible – but it’s something to keep in mind if you’re going there looking for some kind of classy Parisian experience.

Following the crowd, Edouard and I both ordered their signature “Chocolat Chaud l’Africain” … plus a Tarte Tout Chocolat.

Tarte Tout Chocolat

Tarte Tout Chocolat [photo from Angelina website]

My feeling about the cake: delicious! I am a huge chocolate lover and this little delight was right up my alley!

The Price: 9 euros inside, 6 euros to-go at the bakery.

The hot chocolate arrived in a pitcher for 2 (but could easily serve 4 cups) with 2 little cups of whipped cream.

My feeling about the hot chocolate: not a big fan. If you’ve never had hot chocolate “à l’ancienne” in France, you should know that it’s really thick. But this wasn’t my problem… The thing that I didn’t like was the after-taste.  It had a bite to it that I really didn’t like.  Adding the whipped cream helped, but not enough for me to want to order this again.

The Price: 8 euros inside, 4 at the to-go cart out front.

If I go back there again, I’ll probably order a “Chocolat chaud au chocolat blanc” (A hot chocolate made with white chocolate).

6 thoughts on “Angelina – The Best Hot Chocolate in Paris

  1. Pingback: Paris 16th to Les Jardin des Tuileries [Walk #1] | Just Some Girl in France

  2. I have been wanting to try their hot chocolate for years, and now that I can finally have dairy again, I think I will, but I understand what you mean about the bitterness in the aftertaste. I have grown to appreciate that after being forced for so many years to only be able to eat 70% pure dark chocolate. The Meurice has a hot chocolate with a similar taste. Cafe Carette might have hot chocolate that you would like more, as it is a bit sweeter so less bitter. XOX ma jolie!

    • You can have dairy now?! That’s great news! I’ve never heard of Cafe Carette but I’ll def check it out – Nothing better than a delicious hot chocolate on a cold winter’s day 🙂 thanks! And thanks for following! Bises ❤

  3. If you go back to Angelina, ask to be seated upstairs. You might have to wait a bit longer, but it’s worth it. It’s much less crowded, with better chairs too. The decor is kind of the same, but I enjoyed it so much more ! If they still have it, also, try the brioche aux noix de pécan (might not be the exact name) with tea: so goooooood !

Leave a Reply

