Girls’ Night Out in Paris

Girls' Night Out Paris

Ieva, Lu, Anne-Claire & Me: Girls’ Night Out October 2014

Since I’ve moved to Paris, my “Girls Nights” have changed quite a bit. A big part of that is probably due to the fact tact that I’m older… There are things that I like now that my 21-year-old self wouldn’t have dreamed of. Like drinking tea for example. I always hated it. I would have been down for a beer… or two or three.

Now though, I have a cabinet filled with at least 10 different teas – and me and my friends often have “girls’ nights” that end in a tea-drinking gab session.

But besides being older, I think that my girls’ nights have changed because, for the first time in my life, I’m living in the city – There’s always something going on… new advertisements in the metro for up-coming events, new restaurants/clubs/bars opening – so many wonderful things to discover!

Anyway, I thought it might be interesting to tell you about my most recent GNO in Paris : )  Who knows, maybe it’ll give you some ideas for your next night out?

Tuesday night:

Thanks to an ad that I saw at the library, my friend Ieva and I booked tickets to see the Garry Winogrand exposition at the Jeu de Paume (Metro Place de Concord).

Tuesdays are “nocturne” at the museum so the exposition was open until 21h – we stayed an hour and a half and closed the place down.

Here are some of my favorite photographs from the expo (photos from the Jeu de Paume website):

Garry Winogrand fat girl kiss New York 1969

NY 1969

Garry Winogrand baby New Mexico Albuquerque 1957

Albuquerque 1957

Here’s Ieva’s favorite:

Garry Winogrand drinks Metropolitan Opera, New York 1951

Metropolitan Opera, New York 1951

After that dose of culture, we were pretty hungry and decided to walk towards Madeleine to find some food.  But halfway there, we were struck by a little perfume shop with its lights still on and several people gathered inside.  As we huddled by the window trying to figure out what was going on, a guy motioned that we could come in.  So we did.

The name of the shop was Atelier Cologne and apparently, as I found out from the salesman, they were having a special event for the magazine “Marie Claire.”  Thanks to the event, everything in the store was 20% off and they were serving delicious cocktails and snacks.  I had a cocktail with grapefruit juice and a hint of rose.  It was one of the best cocktails I’ve ever tasted, but this could have been partly because I felt so classy sipping it while perfume shopping at the same time. I can’t remember the name of the drink or if the bartender used rhum or gin, but if I had to guess, it was probably a “Cardamom Rose Cocktail.” I may have to buy the ingredients and try this on at home.Atelier Cologne ParisAtelier Cologne ParisOnce we had smelled pretty much every perfume in the store (My favorites were Santal Carmin, Rose Anonyme, & Vanille Insensée), we made our purchases, and were sent home with decorative samples of their scent Bois Blonds.  We didn’t realize it but we took so long making our decision that they were waiting for us to close the store… I felt bad.  They were really nice about it though.  While I waited for Ieva, I talked to the owner of the shop in the Marais who told me the history of the brand.  Although Atelier Cologne is considered a French brand, they surprisingly started in the U.S. where the French couple who founded the company caught they eye (or nose) of the folks at “Neiman Marcus.” Cool beans.

Ieva making perfume decisions…

By the time we left Atelier Cologne, we were really hungry.  And all that shopping gave Ieva the bright idea to change our trajectory and head towards Opera for some Korean food.

Our favorite Korean restaurant is JanTchi (6 Rue Thérèse, 75001 Paris, France).  Luckily, they’re open until 23h so even though it was late, we sat down to a scrumptious “bibimbap boeuf” and some ginger tea.

JanTchi Paris bimbimbap boeuf

Bimbimbap boeuf – So good!!   Photo from http://www.eightyfive.fr/coreen-jantchi/

True story? We closed down JanTchi too… They were putting up the chairs as we paid.

So that sums up my very fun Parisian Girls’ Night out with Ieva.

On my way home, all was quiet as I walked by the beautiful Palais Garnier opera building and the Galeries Lafayette all decked out in holiday lights.

 Palais Garnier opera Paris

Galeries Lafayette Paris Nuit Night Lights

Leave a Reply

