Musings about distance

Everyday it takes me a good hour to get home from work via public transport.  This gives me a lot of time to think, and while I’m on the train I usually let my mind wander.

So yesterday, somehow my crazy thought process got me thinking about a French saying that someone had told me when I was leaving France in 2009:

“Loin des yeux, loin du coeur”

“Far from the eyes, far from the heart”

Now, I know that it can be said the opposite way too – “Loin des yeux, près du coeur” (… close to the heart) – but I think it’s funny that the negative form exists (and was told to me at all…)

I mean, if you think about the way we say it in English, the two expressions aren’t that similar.

The only translation that I can think of would be “Out of sight, out of mind.”  At least here though we’re talking about distance pushing someone out of another’s thoughts, not out of their heart.

And the positive expression in English seems better too:

“Absence makes the heart grow fonder”

… you’re not just “close” to someone’s heart, the feeling grows : )

So I guess the point of this post is just to make you think: loin des yeux, loin du coeur? Or does absence really make the heart grow fonder?

Personally, I think it depends on the relationship and how strong people are.  If they spend all their time together, then a break every now and then would do them good.  “Missing” someone can make you appreciate them more when you’re together again.

But if the two people weren’t that close to begin with, well… they might stray.

Leave a Reply

