Do the French like Obama?

This is one of the questions asked by my sister’s 9th grade French class when I went to visit back in December.

Well, let me just tell you in the past week alone, Obama was mentioned in 2 out of the 5 morning papers.

Two Bordelais Create the Ambiance for Obama

This alone says it all.  The article talks about two young hip-hop fans from Bordeaux who were chosen to write a piece that will be played at the opening of all of Obama’s future meetings.  How did they get chosen?  They were discovered due to a homage clip that they posted on YouTube back in 2008.  Gotta love viral videos.

tweet. tweet.

And this? If you haven’t guessed, it’s announcing the arrival of Michelle Obama’s twitter account.

Kinda funny that even the Mrs. gets a shout out.  Can you imagine newspapers in the U.S. publishing about Carla Bruni being on twitter?  I don’t think it’ll happen anytime soon.

As a side note, I thought I’d mention that the second article in the first image is a new column that explains why the French say certain phrases.

I am loving it.

A lot of expressions are similar to English. The one above explains why we say “It’s not my cup of tea.”  Apparently, it comes from a book written by Englishman William de Morgan in 1908.  He compared people’s personalities to tea saying things like “he’s warm and impulsive.”  The Brits then started saying “He’s my cup of tea” to indicate they were into someone.  By the Second World War the phrase started being used in the negative form.

Too cool, eh?

I thought so.

Leave a Reply

